Sounds Very Human

FISH
Traveling home in the car today I found myself bopping along to a Country Song playing on the radio. It was one I was unfamiliar with. The chorus grabbed my attention:

Everybody wants to go to heaven
But nobody wants to die (?now)
Lord, I want to go to heaven
But I don’t want to die

Though I long for the day when I have new birth
Still I love livin’ here on earth
Everybody wants to go to heaven
But nobody wants to die (?now)

I must admit it got me thinking about how some people are afraid of death. What makes one fear death I wondered – probably the ‘unknown’ aspect of it – and yet is it really unknown? Maybe the Lord was trying to help me with something – He usually does.

Christians have as their living example –  Jesus Christ – and the words recorded in the Bible which tell us many things about the future to come – the time our lives will be renewed in the presence of God in Heaven.  (LINK) Some comments such as this should be very familiar to believers…… so why be afraid?

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live. John 11:25

We know that when Jesus ascended to his Father He promised he would come back for us:

And since I’m going away to prepare a place for you, I’ll come back again and welcome you into my presence, so that you may be where I am.  John 14:3

 

Yet many still fear the transition time…. the time when we no longer need our earthly bodies. The time when our living Spirits within go back to their Creator God. To a place we know of as heaven, where God reigns in all His Splendour and Glory. Home for us all.

This fear is a human trait and is quite understandable for some. Yet there are many who call out to be released from the pain and sufferings of this world, the evils and ugliness that surrounds them, so that they can be reunited with the Eternal Father, Son and Spirit.

I have listened to people’s fear of the coming death and I have listened to other’s who welcome what is immediately ahead of them. There is a huge difference in their attitudes. The fear is palpable in some and the joy is ecstatic and radiant in the others. They all claim they want to Go to Heaven to be with their Father God – some just don’t want to go now!

Based on  Ezekiel 34: 11-14    

In Christ alone my hope is found He is my light my strength my song. This Cornerstone this sold Ground. Firm through the fiercest drought and storm. What heights of love what depths of peace. When fears are stilled when strivings cease. My Comforter my All in All. Here in the love of Christ I stand.

No guilt in life no fear in death. This is the power of Christ in me. From life’s first cry to final breath. Jesus commands my destiny. No power of hell no scheme of man. Can ever pluck me from His hand. Till He returns or calls me home. Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.

And what you may ask has me penning these profound thoughts at this time?

My beloved is diagnosed as being terminal. His life force will be leaving him at God’s appointed time. Is he afraid of what is happening to him? I don’t believe so. He is fortunate in that he suffers little pain, and that which occurs is being well managed. He has dealt with as much as he can of financial, business and family matters, he leaves little for me his wife to deal with after the event. He waits to be called forth, to enter the courts of The Most High God.

His faith is strong. He met Jesus many years ago and welcomed being invited to join the Family of God, now he waits his final calling … not with trepidation but with awe and expectancy of ever lasting joy.

I so wish everyone nearing the end of this bodies earthly journey could feel this way….. Not with fear and trepidation, but with open arms and a welcoming joyous Spirit.

MARANATHA

About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in Christ Died for us, Christian Music, Death, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Life after Death, My Spot's, New Life in Christ, On A Joyous Death, Trusting in God and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sounds Very Human

  1. tellthetruth1 says:

    I didn’t expect that ending. Strength, love in Christ and abundant joy from Him on you both.

  2. Praise the Lord, Clare! Will share! Reminds me of a hymn we sang in church many years ago, “God be with you til we meet again, by His counsels guide uphold you, with His sheep securely fold you, God be with you til we meet again. CHORUS: Til we meet, til we meet, til we meet at Jesus’ feet. Til we meet, til we meet. God be with you til we meet again.” God who gave us life, also chooses when He will call us Home, The unsaved (and sometimes even the saved) block this fact out of daily consciousness by preoccupation with the cares of this life – pleasure, education, career, raising a family, entertainment, traveling, sports, and some even by addictions that block out everything else. But we have a sure and solid Rock upon which to base our view of death. Jesus, our Forerunner (Hebrews 6:19,20), has gone before us and intercedes for us. We can have peace that passes all understanding. (Philippians 4:7) It sounds like you and your husband have this! I have thought much about how to live as Christian, but I also want to die as a Christian – in hope, even when I can’t “sense” His presence anymore due to pain or terrible sickness, I want to remember at the core of my being that God, who gave me life, is still in control and has me securely in His care. Death is the gateway to Glory. Joni Eareckson said, “When you’re suffering bad, just remember that wisdom is trusting the Lord even when life doesn’t make sense.” I was deeply touched by something my grief-stricken mother said when my beloved father died in 2005 http://www.fms-help.com/eulogy.htm: “The Lord gave, and the Lord hath taken away. Blessed be the name of the Lord.” (Job 1:21). They had been joyfully married for 54 years, and the parting was excruciating, but her faith was a tremendous example to me…and you are too! The manner in which we face life’s adversities and death is where the rubber meets the road. May you and your beloved husband continue to experience God’s abundant grace! – Love in Christ, Dominie

Leave a Reply

