The Unforgivable Sin

Mercy SeatI came across an article today attributed to Catherine of Siena (1347-1380) Saint of the Church – who (it is said of her) heard the voice of God speaking to her. The article was about what Christians call The Unforgivable Sin – in relation to the despair of Judas after the betrayal of Jesus.

The unforgivable or unpardonable sin has (from time to time) been a subject I have mused about – (honestly), never deeply. However today I decided to try to understand what Jesus meant when he said: (Mk 3:29) But he that shall blaspheme against the Holy Ghost hath never forgiveness, but is in danger of eternal damnation: (see also Lk 12:10)

Catherine of Siena purportedly said that God told her:  This is the sin that is never forgiven, now or ever: the refusal, the scorning of my mercy. For this offends me more than all the other sins they have committed. So the despair of Judas displeased me more and was a greater insult to my Son than his betrayal had been. Therefore, such as these are reproved for this false judgment of considering their sin to be greater than my mercy… They are reproved also for their injustice in grieving more for their own plight than for having offended me.

The refusing (of), the scorning of My mercy! My goodness, who in their right mind (I asked myself) would do such a thing. Then it hit me like a ton of lead – I had done this. I had been guilty of this. I had gone through a period in my life where the mercy of God was unimportant to me. Quite frankly, truth be told, God was unimportant to me. Oh I knew about God, I had been brought up in a Christian home, and I even worked in a Christian environment, but I had somehow managed to put God and all that entails onto a low fired back burner.

Call this period of my life the selfish years – they went on for quite some time. The only things that mattered to me where those that affected me, and me and me! I drank, I swore, I enjoyed sexual encounters. The list goes on and on and on some more. Suffice to say I was living in the modern world and wanted all of the benefits without  any of the responsibilities.

It would be fair to say during that period of my life I was an apostate or at the very least a lapsed Christian. I gave up on my faith, I abandoned its principles and lived my life according to however it pleased me to do so. God (if I even considered Him) – was simply a benevolent  being who loved everyone (didn’t the bible say so?) and anyway I would not have to worry about God and afterlife things till – whenever!

I was fortunate. That is a crass over simplification. God knocked very loudly one day and I fell at His feet and gained His forgiveness. I am reconciled to Him through Jesus Christ. I believe I am saved. AMEN!

But how would I now describe the topic of today’s discussion – that of the unpardonable sin? Has my self-declared apostasy be washed away? Has it been forgiven? YES it has, and I can tell you why.

To my understanding the unpardonable sin, as Catherine said was the refusal and scorning of the mercy of God. I did not need God, I seldom even considered His glory and majesty. His forgiveness? Well I cared less for that really because I was too busy amusing myself with my own selfish and sinful activities and had little time or need for serious contemplation of the direction – or lack thereof, my life was taking.

Today the only sin that is unforgivable is that of not receiving Jesus Christ as Savior. When you reject Jesus, you reject your only possible means of forgiveness and the only way to gain entrance into heaven. Your fate is sealed. There is no forgiveness if Jesus is not your Savior. Humans do not have the power to save themselves or to have their own sins forgiven. Jesus alone is the only acceptable means to salvation (Acts 4:12). Not accepting Jesus and rejecting belief in Him is truly the only unpardonable and unforgivable sin that people can commit today.  (LINK)

I know with hindsight that I have wasted many many years of my life. During those years that I was separated – through sin – from God, I could have died at any moment. In an instant my earthly life could have ended and I would have had no future – no everlasting future with God in the eternal. I am so delighted He knocked loudly and I asked Him to enter in.

You Can Believe and Accept Jesus Right Now

If someone is worried about having committed the unpardonable sin, that is the very evidence that they have not committed it. The only unforgivable sin that we must worry about today is rejecting Jesus Christ as our own personal Savior. The consequences of this are eternal separation from God, which is hell in itself; this is irreversible…unpardonable. This is the only unpardonable, unforgivable sin that there is. But this is one that you can wipe away with repentance, and belief and acceptance of Jesus Christ (John 3:16). If you have believed in Him, then there is absolutely no need for you to worry about committing the unpardonable sin. You are already His possession and He will not ever cast you away (John 6:37). Once you are His, no one can snatch you out of the Father’s hand or out of Jesus’ hand (John 10:28-29). If you want this eternal security right now, just read the following scriptures and place your eternal future in His secure hands:

Admit that you are a sinner and in need of a Savior (Rom 6:23),

Abandon self effort and realize you cannot be saved by your works or efforts (Acts 16:31),

Accept freely Christ’s payment for my sins, required of the Father. (John 3:16),

And acknowledge Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Savior (Acts 4:12).

If you have just received Jesus, you have now received God’s inheritance rights as a son or daughter of His and can never be lost again. This inheritance is called eternal life, which means when you die and leave this planet you will go to be with the Father in heaven (John 10:28-29). (LINK)

Easter is the time we celebrate Jesus’ resurrection… He has new life…. just as we can if we accept God as our Father and King. Our Saviour, Jesus Christ invites us in…. will you accept? I did. Everyday is Easter Day to the members of Gods Family.

 

About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christ Died for us, Christian Musings, Death, Easter, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Life after Death, New Life in Christ, Prayer, Trusting in God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

