Baptism saves – or does it?

From time to time I receive stimulating (short) Christian essays – and they make me stand up straight and put my spiritual thinking cap on.

Take for example the story here:

Because Thorgeir Thorkelsson was a respected citizen, the Icelandic parliament gave him the responsibility of deciding Iceland’s future. He huddled under a fur blanket for more than 24 hours and then announced that Iceland would become Christian. So in the year 1000 A.D., Thorgeir, a pagan priest, took his pagan idols and threw them into a large Icelandic waterfall, which is now known as Waterfall of the Gods (Icelandic: Goðafoss). The people abided by Thorgeir’s decision and were baptized; thus ended a possible civil war before it began. (Source)

Not only did it end a possible civil war, it confirmed the entire nation of Iceland as Christian. But did it?

Just because Thorgeir made a unilateral decision affecting the entire people, and they were all baptised with water, did it actually affect their hearts, where the love of God will reside in a true Christian? I know this is all (possibly) hypothetical, but it certainly bears thinking about.

I can tell you from first hand, having been baptised at birth, that it did not make me into a Christian. I was turned 40 years of age before I finally declared Jesus Christ to be my Lord and Saviour – and knew what I was saying – and knew what it meant, and meant it!

Brenda Wood, author of the above Icelandic story says:

Getting baptized doesn’t make you a Christian, anymore than holding a bag of milk in your arms makes you a refrigerator.

John 3:3Jesus answered him, I assure you, most solemnly I tell you, that unless a person is born again (anew, from above), he cannot ever see (know, be acquainted with, and experience) the kingdom of God (AMP).

Prayer: Father God, don’t let us fool ourselves into thinking that baptism or church attendance gives us relationship with you. In Christ. Amen.

About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in Bible, Childhood Innocence, Christ Died for us, Christian Musings, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, New Life in Christ and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

