Without ~ an absence of

I was pondering just recently on what my life would be like, in what direction I might have wandered if I had not invited Jesus into my future.

It was not a pleasant pondering really because to put it in a nutshell I believe PERDITION defines it spiritually, and hopeless would describe it in life terms.

Now I had absentmindedly convinced myself that I was a child of God, who would at the appointed time go to heaven. After all, I had been baptized a Christian, practiced in one of the major denominations, worked for a few clergymen and religious women, and taught in the area of Christian Adult Education – what more could be needed? (Sarcasm!)

But I still did not really know My Lord…. He was merely an historical figure I had learned about, professed to know without understanding the meaning of the word ‘know’, and kept locked away in a dark recess to be called upon in times of tragedy and fear.

I was a sinner, mired in filth and did not even recognize the stink I gave off. My life was one of allusion (nothing more than a passing reference) – I alluded to being a Saved Christian without understanding what that really meant. Then Jesus entered my heart and all was changed in an instant.

He had wanted to come in for a very long time – since before I was formed I believe (Jeremiah 1:4-9), but it took a word from me to open the door (Rev. 3:20).

What would it be like without?

Without Jesus in my life I learned that:
Life without God is death. Life without God is dull. Life without God is fearful.
Life without God is shallow. Life without God is empty. Life without God is sin.
Life without God is miserable. Life without God is hard. Life without God is confusing.
Life without God is life without purpose. Life without God is life without hope.
Enjoyment of life without God is short. Life without God is foolish. Life without God is inferior. Life without God is less abundant. Life without God is sorrowful.

Life without God is depressing. Life without God is a maze with no escape.
Life without God is a treadmill. Without God life is pathetic. Without God life is desperate. Life without God is a dead-end. Life without God is life with a leash. Life without God is quick-sand. Life without God is life with shortages. Life without God is life without light.

Life without God is unbearable. Life without God is lonely. Life without God is futile. Life without God is a judgment. Life without God is vanity. Life without God is worthless. Life without God is a mess. Life without God is selfish. Life without God is limited. Life without God is a prison. Life without God is shortened. Life without God seems too long. Life without God is burdensome. Life without God is a life without help. Life without God is life without good. Life without God is blind, deaf and unfeeling. Life without God is devoid of wisdom. Life without God is weak. Life without God is weakness.

Life without God is misguided. Life without God is mechanical. Life without God is instinctive. Life without God is living like an animal. Life without God is wasted. Life without God is a life stolen from God. Life without God is the rejection of good. Life without God is ignorant. Life without God is deceptive. Life without God lacks reality. Life without God lacks truth. Life without God is shaky. Life without God is inconsistent. Life without God lacks a dependable foundation.

Life without God is a choice. Life without God is the rejection of life. Life without God is the rejection of God. Life without God guarantees eventual disaster. Hell will be existence without God. Life without God is Hell on earth. Life without God is not life. Life without God does not deserve to be called life. Life without God is unnatural. Life without God is not what He intends for us.

Unless God intervenes a life without Him automatically becomes
an eternal existence without Him.

God will not intrude in your life without your permission. Even if He is in your life He will not intrude in the nooks and crannies of your life without your permission. Are we foolish enough to exclude Him? (source)

I ask – right now Lord, that you permeate every nook and cranny of my entire life. It is useless trying to hide from you and, I believe with you in my life, the journey towards HOME will be challenging and exciting.  AMEN

About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in Bible, Childhood Innocence, Christ Died for us, Christian Musings, Death, God, Jesus, Life after Death, New Life in Christ, Prayer, Trusting in God. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Without ~ an absence of

  1. Hank says:

    It is God who chooses, and He saves and redeems His people. You do NOT choose God. He is sovereign, and does it all. You can do nothing except obey His Law word in thankfulness for having been chosen. He chose ONLY one people (not Jews), the Israelites descended from Abraham. Jacob have I loved, and Esau I hated.

    • God gave us free will to choose/accept or reject/deny. Free will is a gift not a burden….. in time I chose to accept My Lord and God, My Saviour and King…. how long had He been asking? FOREVER I believe, but when I finally heard in my heart and accepted in my heart HE came and resided within me. This is my belief.

      • It is my firm understanding that Our Great and Mighty Creator God want’s no one to perish…..

        Ezekiel 33:11 Say to them, ‘As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live. Turn! Turn from your evil ways! Why will you die, O house of Israel?’

        King James Bible (Cambridge Ed.) 2 Pet 3:9
        The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

        If scripture records that God wants none to perish and all to come to redemption, that again alludes to a freedom of choice to Love, honour and serve the Lord God, because again scripture records that ALL fall short and have sinned Rom 3:23, yet God wants none to miss out on redemption. The word is NONE, that means every human being has the choice to accept God and Live, ese why did He send out missionaries, and still does, to bring the Good News to the entire world?

        Peace and Love.

    • I need to be able to back up my thoughts with scripture. Where could I find a very simple verse to back-up the freedom of choice we have in God?

      Deuteronomy 30:15 “See, I have set before you today life and good, death and evil, 16 “in that I command you today to love the Lord your God, to walk in His ways, and to keep His commandments, His statutes, and His judgments, that you may live and multiply; and the Lord your God will bless you in the land which you go to possess. 17 “But if your heart turns away so that you do not hear, and are drawn away, and worship other gods and serve them, 18 “I announce to you today that you shall surely perish; you shall not prolong [your] days in the land which you cross over the Jordan to go in and possess. 19 “I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, [that] I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live.

      Maybe an over simplification but to my mind, I read The Lord God giving me and all of humanity a choice of life over death. Spiritual Life over spiritual death. A future with God or a future in the absence of God. Free Will, but as in all things with choices there are consequences. Positive and negative consequences. I Choose Life!

Leave a Reply

