Are we Pauline in our approach to faith?

Our Pastor challenged us today at our home group, about what things we are steadfast about. What do we hold onto with complete certainty, and would, if necessary be prepared to die for?

I am reminded of the Apostle Paul as he spent time in prison in Rome, awaiting assuredly his own death. Biblical scholars tell us that 2 Timothy was written by Paul just before his death (AD 67?)

Paul wrote: “For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand. I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing” (2 Timothy 4:6-8).

Paul was ready to die for his faith in Jesus Christ. He stood firm and was unshakable. Author Roger D Campbell says about St Paul (and us also):

The life that we live on the planet earth is only temporary. It is a time given to us to prepare for the judgment and the life to come. Can we truly say with the apostle Paul that we are prepared for our departure from this earthly life? Some folks are prepared, some are not. What about you and me? Have we truly been fighting the good fight and keeping the faith? If so, then let’s keep it up all the way to the finish line! If not, then it is time to set our lives in order even this very day, for today is the day of salvation (2 Corinthians 6:2).

Yes our faith in the Lord Jesus Christ, His Virgin Birth, His Life, Death, Resurrection and Ascension into everlasting Glory needs be the very foundation of our faith and future existence. I doubt any Christian would argue that point. But what else do we hold firm to – in ways which make us stand out as followers of Christ Jesus?

Where do we stand publically on the issue of homosexual marriage? I can tell you that I have lost a good friend over this issue. She felt that I was cruel and heartless in my stance. She has a son who is homosexual, and as a mother she wants only for him to be happy and to have all the privileges of any other young adult. She feels that as he and his partner are in love – they ought to be allowed to marry – just as any other couple who are in love can.

I really felt strongly that this was both an unnatural situation and against the Law of God. I needed to have something other than my own feelings to back up my stance, so I turned to the authority of God – in His time enduring Word.

God’s plan for sexuality

“So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.”  —Genesis 1:27 (NKJV)

“And the LORD God said, ‘It is not good that man should be alone; I will make him a helper comparable to him.’ Out of the ground the LORD God formed every beast of the field and every bird of the air, and brought them to Adam to see what he would call them. And whatever Adam called each living creature, that was its name. So Adam gave names to all cattle, to the birds of the air, and to every beast of the field. But for Adam there was not found a helper comparable to him. And the LORD God caused a deep sleep to fall on Adam, and he slept; and He took one of his ribs, and closed up the flesh in its place. Then the rib which the LORD God had taken from man He made into a woman, and He brought her to the man. And Adam said: ‘This is now bone of my bones And flesh of my flesh; She shall be called Woman, Because she was taken out of Man.’ Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and they shall become one flesh. And they were both naked, the man and his wife, and were not ashamed.”
Genesis 2:18-25 (NKJV)

In my not so perfect understanding I see that it is only between the mating of a male with a female that a child can be conceived. That is the law of the universe. You do not find two goats, two camels or two gorillas of the same sex mating and having children. Neither will it be with two of the human species. It is not natural for two women to raise a child or two men to raise a child. A child needs the nurturing of both mother and father to enable them to grow.  How can you be fruitful and multiply – as per God’s instructions if you are not a male/female couple?

I am confounded about lesbian couples and homosexual couples who adopt and raise children. How can these children learn what it is to be male or female when they are being brought up in a homosexual family? Children learn by example, and what kind of an example are they receiving in a homosexual family?

I take my stand in public on this issue.  Marriage is for male and female, for the procreation of children. If homosexual couples want to have a recognised union, then let it be a civil union. Marriage is not for homosexuals.

Where do you stand on Mercy Killing – Euthanasia – Abortion? God’s Word tells us in no uncertain terms you shall NOT kill. There is no back door clause in YOU SHALL NOT.

If that is not simple enough, then we can look again at God’s Word – His directions for our lives and see:

The Bible tells us that we are not to murder (Exodus 20:13).  Murder is the unlawful taking of life, and killing is the lawful taking of life.  Technically speaking, if a nation said that euthanasia was legal, and then on a human level it would not be murder.  But as societies often legislate moral issues in contradiction to the Bible, just because a society might say that euthanasia is good does not mean that it is.  We are to obey God rather than men (Acts 5:29).

We are made in the image of God (Gen. 1:26), and it is the Lord God who gives us life (Job 33:4) and who has numbered our days (Job 14:5).  This means that God is the sovereign Lord who determines the day that we die.  Therefore, we are not to usurp God’s authority.

This Week Time Magazine (USA) ran a cover story on How to Die. This is another example of the way society is changing – and certainly not for the better. Kill off your sick and aged parents and get the inheritance sooner! Oh and by the way, you will help save money for the country as well.

I take my stand publically on this issue also. Life is a precious gift from God. It is not for us, or another to decide if and when I should die, that time is God’s alone to decide.

I believe Jesus gave his life for ME; I am a sinner who is unworthy to enter into everlasting life. Yes – The Son of God died so that I might have an eternal future with God. My human body is frail – ashes to ashes, dust to dust, and yet the Spirit of God, living in me, now has the hope of an eternity to be spent with My God.

And I shall put my spirit in you, and you will live, and I shall resettle you on your own soil; and you will know that I, the Lord, have said and done this – it is the Lord who speaks. Ezekiel 37:14

I Take my stand publically on this issue and profess Jesus Christ as My Lord and Saviour.

Am I Pauline in my approach? My husband just asked me to explain what that meant. I mean am I able to use St. Paul as my role model….. Will I be prepared to stand up in public, as he did and profess Jesus Christ as my Saviour? Do I show to others I meet the Human face of Christ?

It would pay us all to remember those words of Paul, written just before his death in Rome. He told Timothy: (2 Tim 3:16-17)

All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for refutation, for correction, and for training in righteousness, so that one who belongs to God may be competent, equipped for every good work.

At times I feel stuck for an answer when challenged on my beliefs, but as soon as I turn to (return to) the Word of God (scripture) I know I will find the strength to share, teach, refute and train others where needed.

A wise old pastor once told me that everything I need for salvation
can be found in Sacred Scripture. He was not wrong!
Baptist preacher, C H Spurgeon, put it in a nutshell,
The Bible, the whole Bible, and nothing but the Bible, is the religion of Christ’s church.

We may be quite certain that we do not have to believe – or do – anything that is not in the Bible in order to be saved

 

I don’t know how strong I am,
but I do know what I aspire to –
and that is to be a Child of Christ.
I am weak but He is strong.

  

Chronology of Apostle Paul’s Journeys and Epistles

 

About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in Abortion, Christ Died for us, Euthanasia, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Marriage, My Spot's and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are we Pauline in our approach to faith?

  1. tellthetruth1 says:

    I saw the Time article yesterday. It’s appalling. Where I live, there’s no reasonable healthcare at all and they don’t wait until you’re dying, seemingly, to cut you off. There’s a pastor who uses WordPress to stand against sodomy. If I get another comment come through, would you like the link to read what he said? Thanks for this strong and encouraging post. It’s much appreciated, Jen

  2. Thanks for commenting, and please do post the link, I would like to read what the Pastor says.

  3. tellthetruth1 says:

    I’ll go through my web history to see if I can find the original post as comments seem to have dried up, now. I’ll post it for you if I find it.

  4. tellthetruth1 says:

    Hello there! Just got another comment on that blog I mentioned. It’s on WordPress and here’s the link (at long last)!

    http://exministries.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/taking-a-stand-d-l-foster-pens-an-open-letter-to-the-potus/

    Blessings, Jen:)

Leave a Reply

