Those Teenage Years are coming – My Spot

Next Year I will be a teenager!
Right now I am still considered a child I think…. Don’t the teenage years begin at 13?  

 

Let me explain a little.  Mid-year – in the year 2000 (easy for me to remember) I vocally and passionately professed my faith in Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. 

That is where my real journey began.

For the past 12 years I have been on a wonderful journey of discovery, getting to know, and becoming intimate with God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit.  Oh I knew about them, after all I was working for 17 years within the Catholic Church, and progressed into working in Adult Education for them.

It’s rather funny you know, but many people believe Roman Catholics don’t use a BIBLE…… they seem to think Catholics are told everything they need to know by their Priests. I can personally attest to the fact that this is not true having studied myself at Catholic Theological Seminary in Sydney, (I do have a Certificate in Religious Studies) and I taught many classes, to groups of  spiritually hungry Catholic Adults, on different topics over many years.

But that all changed for me when from my innermost being, came the passionate declaration of who Jesus was for me. That is when I began my fantastic journey. I am going to claim it as my REBIRTH, hence the reason I say I am only 12 years old right now.

Like all children I am on a journey of discovery. I read recently a comment by John W. Ritenbaugh which seemed to encapsulate this discovery journey that we are all on. He said:

All of this requires time. It is not God’s purpose merely to save us, but to bring us to His image so that we will be prepared for His Kingdom. Our God is a Creator. He is reproducing Himself in us. Like a wise parent, He is judging, evaluating what is best for our development, then putting us through the next step in that ongoing process until we inherit His Kingdom.

I am learning new and different things at each turn of the page. So what are some of the things I have learned recently? Are you interested?

I learned that the term used in the Old Testament – YEAR OF JUBILEE, even though it pertained to a year of favor for the Jewish Nation (see Leviticus 25) means so much more to us in New Testament Times.

When Jesus first preached in the Synagogue in Nazareth, He opened the scroll of the Prophet Isaiah, and declared in Luke Ch. 4:16-21

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon Me,
Because He has anointed Me
To preach the gospel to the poor;
He has sent Me to heal the broken-hearted,
To proclaim liberty to the captives
And recovery of sight to the blind,
To set at liberty those who are oppressed;
To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord.

THIS WAS HIS JUBILEE MESSAGE to all who would listen and hear it.

Jesus was going to set us free (to set at liberty) from the captivity of our sin….. That meant freedom to enter everlasting life! WHAT A GIFT!

In the Old Testament during a Jubilee Year, slaves were freed, land was returned to original owners, debts were forgiven – written off and the oppressed were released….. And here we have Jesus proclaiming: “Today this Scripture is fulfilled in your hearing.”

Did they listen and heed what He was telling them? I don’t reckon so because down in verse 24 it is recorded Jesus said“no prophet is accepted in his hometown”. That was just before they tried to throw Him off a cliff!!

For me this simple putting together of the Old Testament Jubilee message and the New Testament Jubilee message was a profound insight…… see I am on a learning curve! I had read it all before but never once did I make the connection DUH!

There have been many others too, but so I don’t go on for too long, let me share this with you.

At the Jubilee Feast a trumpet is always sounded… did you know that? The Trumpet is called a Shofar; (It is a Ram’s Horn) some maybe familiar with it? This is the same sound we are told we will hear when Jesus comes again on the clouds in Glory.

LISTEN    http://www.youtube.com/watchv=vFGOgAiwemo&feature=related

I don’t know about you – but I am sooooo looking forward to hearing that call….. And if I have left my mortal body, then I am assured that the ‘dead in Christ will rise first”. (1Thes 4:16) God never goes back on His promises.

OK That’s enough from me,  but I ask you to join with me in singing / listening to another great worship song – and boy do Messianic Jews know how to worship!  Let’s join them in worshipping Our Great and Mighty God.

I would guestimate most of us know this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ra4HWj1jrJA

 

About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in Bible Prophecy, Christ Died for us, Christian Musings, Death, End Times, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Life after Death, My Spot's, New Life in Christ, Trusting in God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

